Russkaya Cappella’s repertoire includes a varied selection of Russian choral music in different styles and from several centuries, including both the strictly liturgical and the more concert-like, secular, music by Russian composers, as well as choral arrangements of Russian folksongs. The choir sings in Russian, Church Slavonic and occasionally in other languages (e.g. Latin, English, Greek and Chinese). The majority is performed a cappella, the minority with organ accompaniment.

The principal categories of music performed by Russkaya Cappella are:

  • anonymous monodic chants (including znamenny) and melodies used in Orthodox worship;
  • music composed or arranged in Imperial Russia by Bortnyansky, Chesnokov, Degtyaryov, Glinka, Kastal’sky, L’vov, Lyadov, Rachmaninoff, Rimsky-Korsakov and Tchaikovsky;
  • music composed or arranged in the Russian diasporas (Grechaninov, Kedrov, Konstantinov, Kovalevsky, Shvedov) and in the USSR (Lobachov, Shebalin, Sveshnikov);
  • Russian folksongs

Samples of our music from previous concerts

Alexander Kastalsky. Requiem for Fallen Brothers. № 12. Requiem eternal. The
soloist — Alexey Gusev. (Glasgow, 11 June 2017).


Song of the Volga Boatmen (“Эй, ухнем”), Russian folk song, arr. by Victor
Kalinnikov (1923). (Glasgow, 11 June 2017).



There in the distance over the river (“Там вдали за рекой”) (“The death of the
Komsomol member”) (1924). (Glasgow, 11 June 2017).


By the gates (“У ворот, ворот”), Russian folk song, arr. by Alexander Kastalsky.
(Glasgow, 11 June 2017).

Alexander Kastalsky. Troyka. Words by Pyotr Oreshin (около 1926). (Glasgow,
11 June 2017).

Celebration of St Mungo, Glasgow Cathedral, 12 January 2014

  1. Glorification of St Kentigern – a) znamenny chant, b) chant harmonization by N. N. Kedrov Jr (1905–1981).
  2. Only-begotten Son – D. Bortnyansky (1751-1825).
  3. Bells Rang Early in Jerusalem – Ukrainian Carol, arr. Y. Yatsynevych (1869-1945).

“Glory” (Slav’sya!) — M. I. Glinka (1804–1857)

‘Ingemisco’, from “Requiem for Fallen Brothers” — A. D. Kastal’sky (1856–1926).
Featuring soprano soloist, Susan Sheldon.

‘Agnus Dei’, from “Requiem for Fallen Brothers” — A. D. Kastal’sky (1856–1926)
Agnus Dei, from ‘Requiem for Fallen Brothers’—A.D. Kastal’sky (1856–1926)

Hymn of light (Svetilen) — M. S. Konstantinov (1904–1982)

Oh, how full, how full’s my basket — arr. C. Shvedoff (1884–1954)
Oh, how full, how full’s my basket—arr. C. Shvedoff (1884–1954)